The "Clear Registration" option must be used before an ActiveSync device can re-register
Posted by Donna Magada on 25 January 2010 02:06 PM

The DeviceID changes each time an ActiveSync partnership is created with the same device.  Therefore in a situation where the ActiveSync account is deleted and then created again on the same or a different device, an administrator or the user must clear the registration for the device before it is re-registered

When this step is not performed, the device will block connection to the server and will not synchronize. An error message may or may not be given.

The correct procedure before re-registering the ActiveSync account, is to Clear Registration from the GO!NotifyLink Client Web or the GO!NotifyLink Administrative Web.

End users can use the GO!NotifyLink Client Web to:

1.) Select General > Device.

2.) Click the Clear Registration button.

Then proceed with re-registering your ActiveSync account.

OR
Administrators can use the GO!NotifyLink Administrative Web to:

1.) Choose User Administration and select the user.

2.) Click on the Edit User Device button.

3.) Click the Clear Registration button.

Then proceed with re-registering the ActiveSync account.